Ellicottville Memorial Library
Bylaws of the Board of Trustees

I. Name
The name of the Board shall be Ellicottville Memorial Library Board

II. Purposes
To offer library services to the people of Ellicottville and the surrounding areas.

III. Membership
The Board shall be composed of seven to ten Trustees. The new Trustees shall be elected by the existing Board at the Annual Meeting which shall be held in March of each year, the date of such meeting to be determined by the Board at its prior meeting. Each Trustee shall be given at least three days written notice of the Annual Meeting. Terms of office of the Trustees shall be for a period of three years to commence on the first day of April following the date of election.

In the event of resignation, death, or inability of any Trustee to serve, a successor may be elected by the Board to serve until the unexpired portion of the term of said Trustee whose vacancy is being filled.

A Trustee can miss no more than three meetings per year unless there is extenuating circumstances, such as illness, and an officer or the Director of the Library is notified.

A Trustee cannot be nominated or elected to the Board unless they are a resident of the Ellicottville School District.

IV. Officers

The Officers of the Board shall be elected at the Annual Meeting of the Trustees. The officers shall be as follows: President, Vice-President, Secretary and Treasurer.

Duties of Officers

President: The president shall have charge of all meetings of the Board of Trustees. He/she shall be the chief executive officer of the library and shall have general management and control of the business and affairs of the library.

Vice-President: The vice president, in the absence or disability of the president, shall exercise the powers and perform the duties of the president. He/she shall also assist the president and exercise such other powers and perform such other duties as shall be prescribed by the Trustees.

Treasurer: The treasurer shall have custody of all funds, securities, evidences of indebtedness of the library and shall deposit the same in such bank or trust company as shall be designated by the trustees. He/she shall pay out of the funds on hand all bills, payrolls, and other just debts of the library. The individual shall enter regularly in books of the library to be kept by the individual for this purpose, full and accurate accounts of all monies received and paid out on account of the library and he/she shall perform all other duties incident to the office of treasurer. He/she will have the books available for review by another member of the Board.

Secretary: The secretary shall keep the minutes of all proceedings of the Trustees. He/she shall attend to the giving and service of all notices of Trustees and members of the library or other notice required by law or these bylaws. The secretary shall have charge of such other books and papers as the Board may direct and shall perform all other duties incident to the office of the secretary.

V. Committees

The president is authorized to appoint such committees from time to time as may be deemed necessary or advisable in connection with the working of the library. The president shall appoint a Nominating Committee which shall nominate candidates for Trustees and which shall report its nominations to the Board at the meeting of the Trustees on or before the Annual Meeting of the Board of Trustees.

VI. Quorum

A majority of five duly elected Trustees shall constitute a quorum for purposes of any regular or special meeting of the Board. At least five of those Trustees actually present and voting shall be necessary for the purpose of acting on any resolution.

VII. Fiscal Year

The fiscal year of the library shall be from January 1st to December 31st of each year.

VIII. Meetings

Regular: The Board of Trustees shall hold a minimum of 10 monthly meetings, the time and place thereof to be determined by the Board by resolution, and no further notice shall be required. However, at least half of these meetings must be held in the library.

Special: Special meetings of the Board shall be held at the call of the president or the vice-president or at least two members of the Board, upon giving at least three days’ notice in writing prior thereof.

IX. Order of Business

The order of business at the regular meetings shall be as follows:
1. Reading of minutes of last meeting
2. Report of the Treasurer
3. Report of the Director
4. Report of Committees
5. Unfinished Business
6. New Business
7. Adjournment

This order of business may be changed at any meeting by general consent, except as otherwise provided by the bylaws. Robert’s Rules of Order shall govern the proceedings.

X. Amendments

These bylaws may be amended from time to time by the Board of Trustees in the following manner:

By notice to Trustees of the proposed amendment in writing at least five days prior to holding any regular or special meeting, at which time action upon said proposal may be taken up at said regular or special meeting.

By proposing such amendment at any regular or special meeting, after which said proposed change may not be voted upon or take effect until the next regular meeting of the Board of Trustees at which the Trustees must approve such change in the bylaws in order to effectuate the change.

Passed 7th day of February 2018

Ellicottville Memorial Library Board

Margaret Signore, President
Sheila Burrell, Vice-president
Robert Lanza, Treasurer
Therese O’Rourke, Secretary
Carolyn Widger
Bonnie Cady
Bart Frank
Bonnie Koschir
Erin Cornelius
Spencer Timkey

Upcoming Events